New Central Warehouse for Atea automated by KNAPP AB

Press information: Published on in Locations, Retail, Technology

In Växjö, Sweden, Atea ASA is building a new site for their life cycle management, distribution, and production. Atea has witnessed growing volumes and expects continued growth, meaning larger and more modern premises are necessary to make the lifecycle management, distribution, and production more flexible and efficient. Atea has selected a KNAPP OSR Shuttle system to meet these demands.

Atea is the leading Nordic and Baltic supplier of IT infrastructure and one of the top five distributors of IT products from global vendors. Atea has 6,900 employees and 87 offices in the Nordic region and the Baltics. Besides being a large distributor of IT products, Atea’s operations also include an innovative configuration and recycling business which gives them a unique position within this field.

With the KNAPP solution consisting of an OSR Shuttle, Atea will benefit from an agile and fast distribution process, and at the same time be able to support recycling and configuration.

Goods will be stored triple-deep in plastic totes in the OSR Shuttle solution, all smoothly handled at decanting stations before being transported automatically into the OSR Shuttle. The Pick-it-Easy work stations guide the picker intuitively, preventing errors. Being able to pick into both paper cartons and plastic totes ensures maximum flexibility. If an article (from the supplier) is already in a high-quality carton and ready for distribution, these will be transported directly to dispatch, thereby saving a lot of effort involved in packing as well as material.

These workstations will be used for picking to distribution as well as for serving the production area with material, as required.

Packing can take place at the Pick-it-Easy stations (with low flows of goods, mainly) and also in a separate packing area. Goods can then be packed both manually and semi-automatically using automatic carton-closing equipment for handling both smaller and larger packages. A transport label is applied automatically and the goods are then sorted automatically to the right dispatch ramp.

The recycling and configuration production area will receive material quickly from the OSR Shuttle as and when it is needed and can also return the material or store it for later use. This makes production incredibly agile, with possibilities for reloading and quick retrieval of goods from the OSR Shuttle system.

Ulf Henrikson, Sales Manager for Group Sales at KNAPP Nordics: “Together with the Atea team, we have developed a highly-efficient and expandable automation solution based on the specific requirements of Atea. We are looking forward to the successful implementation of this project and a long-lasting partnership.”

Niklas Lundström, Logistics Manager at Atea points out, “We have really appreciated KNAPP’s efforts as a very flexible supplier as we looked to find the optimal solution for Atea. When we build our new cutting-edge logistics centre, it is important for us to work with the very best. We want to benefit from technology and services from market and technological leaders in logistics. This is why we have chosen KNAPP as our partner.”

The startup of the new central warehouse is scheduled for early in the 2nd quarter of 2019.

KNAPP AB
KNAPP AB is located in Åstorp, part of a group that works with world-leading technology and operates internationally in warehouse automation and warehouse logistics. We are a team of around 130 employees. Globally, the KNAPP Group consists of 3,400 employees across 35 offices. KNAPP supports customers around the world.

Press contact

Margit Wögerer
KNAPP AG Press Relations
Günter-Knapp-Strasse 5-7
8075 Hart bei Graz | Austria
+43 5 04952 2501
presse@knapp.com

IT-Händler Atea automatisiert mit OSR Shuttle von KNAPP

Presseinfo: Veröffentlicht am in Retail, Standorte, Technologie

Atea ASA errichtet in Växjö, Schweden, einen neuen Standort für Produktlebenszyklus-Mangement, Produktion und Distribution. In den letzten Jahren ist das Unternehmen stetig gewachsen und dieser Trend hält an. Damit steigen auch die Anforderungen an Flexibilität und Effizienz, weshalb sich Atea für eine Automatisierungslösung mit OSR Shuttle-Technologie entschied.

Atea ist führender IT-Produzent und Händler in den nordischen und baltischen Staaten und zählt zu den Top-5 Lieferanten von IT-Artikel globaler Anbieter. Das Unternehmen beschäftigt 6.900 Mitarbeiter an 87 Standorten im Norden und im Baltikum. Aber Atea ist nicht nur Großhändler, sondern betreibt auch ein innovatives Konfigurations- und Recyclinggeschäft, das dem Unternehmen im globalen Markt eine Sonderstellung einräumt.

Die OSR Shuttle-Lösung von KNAPP ermöglicht Atea einen agilen und schnellen Distributionsprozess und unterstützt ebenso die Recycling- und Konfigurationsprozesse. Zunächst werden die angelieferten Artikel an Decanting-Arbeitsplätzen bearbeitet und in Kunststoff-Behälter dreifachtief ins OSR Shuttle eingelagert.

Pick-it-Easy Arbeitsplätze sorgen für die Kommissionierung und bei Bedarf auch für die Bereitstellung von Material für den Produktionsbereich. Um Fehler zu vermeiden, führen Pick-to-Light Displays den Kommissionierer intuitiv durch den Kommissionierprozess. Die Artikel können entweder in Kartons oder Kunststoff-Behälter kommissioniert werden, was ein Höchstmaß an Flexibilität bietet. Versandfertige Lieferanten-Kartons werden direkt in den Versand gesteuert, das spart Arbeitsaufwand und Verpackungsmaterial.

Verpackungstätigkeiten können ebenso an den Pick-it-Easy Arbeitsplätzen durchgeführt werden oder in einem eigenen Verpackungsbereich. Verpackt werden die Artikel sowohl manuell als auch semi-automatisch mithilfe von Kartonverschließern für kleinere und größere Pakete. Nach automatischer Applizierung des Routing-Labels wird die Ware automatisch auf die richtige Versandrampe sortiert.

Der Produktionsbereich für Recycling und Konfiguration wird je nach Bedarf rasch mit Material aus dem OSR Shuttle versorgt. Dieses kann kann jederzeit wieder ins System retourniert bzw. zur späteren Verwendung eingelagert werden. Die Möglichkeit der Wiedereinlagerung und schnellen Auslagerung von Artikeln in das OSR Shuttle-System macht die Produktion außerordentlich flexibel.

Ulf Henrikson, Sales Manager für Group Sales bei KNAPP Nordics: „Zusammen mit dem Atea-Team  haben wir basierend auf den individuellen Bedürfnissen von Atea eine hocheffiziente und erweiterbare Automatisierungslösung entwickelt. Wir freuen uns auf eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung dieses Projekts und auf eine dauerhafte Partnerschaft.“

Niklas Lundström, Logistics Manager bei Atea betont: „Bei der Suche nach der optimalen Lösung für Atea haben wir KNAPP als sehr flexiblen Lieferanten kennen und schätzen gelernt. Beim Bau unseres topmodernen Logistikzentrums war es uns wichtig, mit den Besten zusammenzuarbeiten. Wir freuen uns, von den Technologien und Leistungen eines Marktführers in der Logistikbranche zu profitieren. Daher haben wir uns für KNAPP als Partner entschieden.”

Die Inbetriebnahme des neuen Distributionszentrums ist mit Anfang des 2. Quartals 2019 geplant.

KNAPP AB
KNAPP AB hat seinen Sitz in Åstorp und ist Teil einer Gruppe, die mit weltweit führenden Technologien arbeitet und in den Bereichen Lagerautomation und Lagerlogistik-Software international tätig ist. Das Team in Schweden besteht aus rund 130 Mitarbeitern. Weltweit beschäftigt die KNAPP-Gruppe 3.800 Mitarbeiter an 35 Standorten.

Pressekontakt:

Margit Wögerer
KNAPP AG Press Relations
Günter-Knapp-Strasse 5-7
8075 Hart bei Graz | Austria
+43 5 04952 2501
presse@knapp.com