SAP® EWM by KNAPP as Warehouse Management System

Rigid supply chains have become dynamic, digitally integrated and open systems. The supply chain has become a value chain. Do you rely on an SAP® IT strategy for your supply chain management? If so, SAP® Extended Warehouse Management (SAP® EWM) by KNAPP is the right software solution for your warehouse management system.

SAP® EWM by KNAPP at a glance

SAP® Extended Warehouse Management (SAP® EWM) is a comprehensive, integrated and end-to-end SAP® solution fulfilling all the functions of both a warehouse management system (WMS) and a warehouse control system (WCS), while connecting directly to the control system (PLC). This allows the entire warehouse to be controlled by a single system.

SAP® EWM by KNAPP is a cutting-edge, comprehensive solution that brings together the best of two worlds: SAP® EWM logistics software backed by the decades of industry expertise that the KNAPP group has under its belt. With KNAPP as your SAP partner you will benefit from the experience we have gained from implementing more than 90 SAP® EWM projects and more than 2,000 WMS/WCS projects worldwide. We have the experience and solution-oriented skills you need.

Advantages of SAP® EWM by KNAPP

We offer various solutions involving SAP® EWM such as new implementations, retrofits and even templates for rollouts across several locations, including services and optimizations for existing SAP® EWM solutions by other suppliers.

  • Optimum warehouse management system as part of your SAP® IT strategy
  • End-to-end SAP® solution with direct integration of automated systems
  • Control the entire warehouse conveniently and easily using a single system
  • Scalable logistics software for every degree of automation: manual RF-, voice-guided or even complex automated warehouses
  • Transparency and security provided by source code transfer
  • Benefit from SAP® EWM standards and KNAPP Building Blocks
  • Expanding know-how on both sides of the aisle through joint implementation
  • 24/7 SAP® EWM Service Desk (for SAP® EWM solutions from other suppliers as well)
  • KNAPP as a long-standing implementation partner for SAP® EWM with a secure future

Contact

KNAPP IT Solutions GmbH

Tel.: +43 504952 9100
Mail: sapewm@knapp.com

Overview

SAP® EWM by KNAPP

tailored to sector- and warehouse-specific requirements

Customized warehouse management system

The standard SAP® EWM version covers all the relevant warehouse processes and functions from goods-in to shipping. As an SAP partner, we offer many possibilities to tailor this WMS software to your sector- and warehouse-specific requirements for your warehouse management, and by working together with you, we can ensure the necessary transfer of knowledge.

With SAP® EWM by KNAPP, we offer our customers the best end-to-end logistics solution on an SAP® IT platform, in line with our philosophy of making complexity simple, thanks to our many years of experience in warehouse automation and the knowledge gained from practical experience in successful projects.

Gerald Lassau, KIS
Gerald Lassau
Managing Director of KNAPP IT Solutions GmbH

A logistics software for all degrees of automation, SAP® EWM comes with an integrated material flow control system (MFS) that is directly connected to the control system (PLC). This way, SAP® EWM with MFS is able to control not only KNAPP technologies such as the Streamline and Powerline conveyor systems, the OSR Shuttle™, the Central Belt System or the KNAPP Store, but also similar solutions from other suppliers.

Various implementation models are available:

  • SAP® EWM with MFS as a warehouse management system (WMS) and warehouse control system (WCS)
  • SAP® EWM Healthcare Model Company is a complete WMS/WCS solution, with extensions to handle the special requirements of the healthcare sector
  • SAP® EWM with MFS simply as a WCS solution
  • KNAPP Building Blocks for integrating KNAPP subsystems and technologies into SAP® EWM

    The graphic displays three different levels. The top level is the SAP® ERP system. It is a white field with the text “SAP® ERP” and the SAP logo on the left. The level below is a yellow field and represents the next software level below SAP® ERP. In the left corner is the SAP logo and in the right corner the KNAPP logo. Between is the text “SAP® EWM by KNAPP” and “SAP® EWM MFS by KNAPP”. Two text blocks are at the lower edge of the field representing the KNAPP Building Blocks for the connection of the hardware. In the lower level these hardware components are depicted in icon form. This includes a shuttle, a robot and conveyor systems that are controlled through the upper level (SAP® EWM MFS by KNAPP). Outside the field are the icons of a computer, a printer and an RF terminal that are equipped with KNAPP easyUse software and are connected to the software landscape as well.
    SAP® EWM by KNAPP including MFS as integrated WMS and WCS in an SAP® system landscape with SAP® ERP ECC or S/4HANA as enterprise resource planning system.

More than 80 percent of the warehouse processes across all sectors are identical. That is the reason why SAP® EWM by KNAPP is pre-configured based on KNAPP best practice solutions. KNAPP Building Blocks are ready-to-use software and configuration modules based on up to 100 percent SAP® coding. They are an extension of the SAP® EWM standard system involving requirements specific to a sector or to the material flow of a warehouse and allow various KNAPP technologies to be plugged into SAP® EWM. The focus of a project is primarily on developing and implementing the processes that are specific to the customer. This ensures a short implementation period and minimal project risk.

A happy boy is sitting in the middle of the image and is building a shuttle with black and white Legos. In the background are real shuttles as well as high-bay racking.
KNAPP Building Blocks, software and configuration modules, expand the SAP® EWM standard system with sector-specific requirements of a warehouse. They allow the various KNAPP technologies such as the OSR Shuttle™ to be integrated into SAP® EWM by KNAPP.

With our proven project practices, “doing things right – doing the right things,” collaboration takes top priority. After an initial analysis of the processes, material flows and systems and based on our experience, we recommend an appropriate KNAPP best practice solution. Implementing SAP® EWM together in a collaborative effort ensures that the necessary know-how is transferred and, consequently, a smooth hand-over. A proven multi-stage test methodology is used that includes a digital twin for the subordinate control systems (PLC); additionally, the right planning ensures that the Go-Live and ramp up are successful. Furthermore, the ITIL® certified KNAPP 24/7 SAP® EWM Service Desk (Hotline) provides optimal support once the project has been handed over to the customer.

Solution concept

Specifications

Implementation

Go-Live

24/7 Service Desk

SAP® EWM Services

Services for SAP® EWM

Do you need a reliable partner to help you optimize your existing SAP® EWM solution? As an SAP partner, along with SAP® EWM by KNAPP, we also offer solutions, implementations and services for existing SAP® EWM solutions.

A thorough analysis of your processes, material flows and systems is always the starting point whether you need spot consulting to optimize your existing SAP® EWM or just SAP® EWM support. With this as a basis, we create a customized and comprehensive optimization concept for your SAP® EWM. This includes transfer to individual support by our ITIL® certified 24/7 SAP® EWM Service Desk with a 24/7 hotline service or focused support for specific periods and/or processes.

The change-over of our warehouses to 24/7 support was done in phases so the KNAPP Service Desk team could become familiar with our SAP® EWM with all its features. We are completely satisfied with the support.

Gerald Goldgruber, Strategischer Leiter Prozessmanagement und SAP, Frutura Obst & Gemüse Kompetenzzentrum GmbH
Gerald Goldgruber
Strategic Head, Process Management and SAP, Frutura Obst & Gemüse Kompetenzzentrum GmbH

Frequently asked questions about SAP® EWM

Frequently asked questions about SAP® EWM

SAP® Extended Warehouse Management (EWM) is a logistics software solution in the SAP Supply Chain Management suite. The software is a warehouse management system with an integrated warehouse control system. Its many functions provide a flexible and automated handling of the material flow and stock management in a warehouse.

Learn more about SAP® EWM.

SAP® EWM including MFS (material flow system) is a module within SAP® EWM. It controls the material flow in an automated warehouse, and communicates directly between the SAP® software and the PLC.

In comparison to other WMS and WCS software solutions, SAP® EWM offers the advantage of being a best-of-suite solution. This means that the processes listed below and more can be conveniently and easily carried out using just a single system:

  • Uniform and central mapping of all business processes and the associated logic
  • Rapid, flexible adaptation of the material flow control
  • Changes and adaptations are made centrally in one software, significantly reducing impacts on interfaces
  • Monitoring the operative warehouse management in one system
  • Possibility of an integral, detailed test with an emulation/simulation
  • Error analysis in one system, determining the cause more efficiently and rapidly
  • Use of SAP® standard functionalities proven worldwide
  • Availability of many SAP suppliers in the market and a large community
  • Possibility to build internal SAP® EWM MFS resources
  • Standardized SAP development processes and test procedures (with emulation)

Current and planned further developments and optimizations of SAP are found in the SAP® EWM Roadmap.

The decision on whether SAP® EWM embedded in S4/HANA or the decentralized installation is the optimal model depends on the individual business case. Among other things, various individual requirements such as the scope of functionality, material flow and the degree of automation should all be taken into account. Our SAP® EWM experts are happy to help you find the optimal solution for your project.

Find out more about SAP® EWM by KNAPP in our blog.

SAP® EWM by KNAPP als Warehouse Management System

Starre Lieferketten werden zu dynamischen, digital vernetzten, offenen Systemen. Die Supply Chain wird zur Value Chain. Setzen Sie dafür in Ihrem Supply Chain Management auf eine SAP®-IT-Strategie? Dann ist SAP® Extended Warehouse Management (SAP® EWM) by KNAPP die richtige Softwarelösung für Ihr Warehouse Management System.

SAP® EWM by KNAPP im Überblick

SAP® Extended Warehouse Management (SAP® EWM) ist eine vollumfängliche und integrierte SAP® End-to-End-Lösung, die alle Funktionen eines Warehouse Management Systems (WMS) sowie eines Warehouse Control Systems (WCS) abdeckt und direkt an die Steuerung (SPS) anbindet. Somit kann die Steuerung des gesamten Lagers über ein einziges System erfolgen.

Als intelligente Gesamtlösung vereint SAP® EWM by KNAPP das Beste aus zwei Welten: die SAP®-Logistiksoftware SAP® EWM mit der jahrzehntelangen Expertise und Branchenkenntnis der gesamten KNAPP-Gruppe. Mit uns als SAP Partner profitieren Sie somit von unserer Erfahrung und Lösungskompetenz aus über 90 realisierten SAP® EWM-Projekten, aber auch mehr als 2.000 WMS/WCS-Projekten weltweit.

Vorteile mit SAP® EWM by KNAPP

Wir bieten verschiedenste Lösungen rund um SAP® EWM von Neuimplementierungen über Retrofits bis zu Templates für den Rollout auf mehreren Standorten sowie Services und Optimierungen für bestehende SAP® EWM-Lösungen von Drittanbietern.

  • Optimales Warehouse Management System innerhalb einer SAP®-IT-Strategie
  • SAP® End-to-End Lösung mit direkter Integration der Automatisierung
  • Steuerung des gesamten Lagers bequem und einfach über ein einziges System
  • Skalierbare Logistiksoftware für jeden Automatisierungsgrad von manuellen RF- oder Voice-geführten bis zu komplexen automatisierten Lagern
  • Transparenz und Sicherheit durch Quellcode-Übergabe
  • Profitieren von SAP® EWM-Standards und KNAPP Building Blocks
  • Know-how Aufbau durch gemeinsame Realisierung
  • 24/7 SAP® EWM Service Desk (auch für SAP® EWM von Drittanbietern)
  • KNAPP als zukunftssicherer und langjähriger Implementierungspartner für SAP® EWM

Kontakt

KNAPP IT Solutions GmbH

Tel.: +43 504952 9100
Mail: sapewm@knapp.com

Überblick

SAP® EWM by KNAPP

angepasst auf branchen- und lagerspezifische Anforderungen

Maßgeschneidertes Lagerverwaltungssystem

SAP® EWM beinhaltet in seinem Standardumfang bereits alle wichtigen Lagerprozesse und Funktionen vom Wareneingang bis zum Versand. Als SAP Partner bieten wir einige Möglichkeiten zur Anpassung dieser WMS-Software an Ihre branchen- und lagerspezifische Anforderungen im Warehouse Management sowie den notwendigen Know-how-Transfer durch eine gemeinsame Realisierung.

Mit SAP® EWM by KNAPP bieten wir unseren Kunden entsprechend unserer Philosophie Making Complexity Simple und Dank langjähriger Erfahrung in der Lagerautomatisierung und der daraus abgeleiteten erfolgreichen Projektvorgangsweise, die beste Logistiklösung durchgehend auf einer SAP®-IT-Plattform.

Gerald Lassau, KIS
Gerald Lassau
Geschäftsführer KNAPP IT Solutions GmbH

Als Logistiksoftware für jeden Automatisierungsgrad ist SAP® EWM mit der integrierten Materialflusssteuerung (MFS) direkt an die Steuerung (SPS) gekoppelt. So kann SAP® EWM inkl. Materialflusssteuerung (MFS) sowohl KNAPP-Technologien wie die Fördertechniksysteme Streamline und Powerline, das  OSR Shuttle™, das Central Belt System oder den KNAPP Store steuern, aber auch entsprechende Lösungen von Drittanbietern.

Folgende Realisierungsvarianten sind möglich:

  • SAP® EWM inkl. MFS als Warehouse Management System (WMS) und Warehouse Control System (WCS)
  • SAP® EWM Healthcare Model Company ist eine umfassende WMS- und WCS-Lösung erweitert um die speziellen Anforderungen der Healthcare-Branche
  • SAP® EWM inkl. MFS als reine WCS-Lösung
  • KNAPP Building Blocks zur Integration von KNAPP-Subsystemen und -Technologien in SAP® EWM
Systemlandschaft - SAP EWM incl. MFS by KNAPP
SAP® Systemlandschaft mit SAP® ERP ECC oder S/4HANA als Enterprise-Resource-Planning-System und SAP® EWM by KNAPP inklusive Materialflusssteuerung (MFS) als integriertes Warehouse Management System (WMS) und Warehouse Control System (WCS).

Mehr als 80 Prozent der Lagerprozesse einer Branche sind identisch. Daher ist SAP® EWM by KNAPP bereits auf Basis von KNAPP Best-Practice-Lösungen vorkonfiguriert. KNAPP Building Blocks sind einsatzfertige Software- und Konfigurationsbausteine, die zu 100% auf SAP®-Coding basieren. Sie erweitern den SAP® EWM-Standard um branchenspezifische bzw. materialflussspezifische Anforderungen eines Lagers und ermöglichen auch die Einbindung der unterschiedlichen KNAPP-Technologien in SAP® EWM. Der volle Fokus im Projekt liegt auf der Erarbeitung und Umsetzung der kundenindividuellen Prozesse. Dies ermöglicht eine kurze Umsetzungszeit und minimales Projektrisiko.

Zentral im Bild sitzt ein glücklicher Junge, der mit schwarzen und weißen Legosteinen einen OSR Shuttle™ baut. Im Hintergrund sind echte, also nicht aus Lego gemachte, OSR Shuttles™ von KNAPP zu sehen sowie ein Hochregallager.
KNAPP Building Blocks, Software- und Konfigurationsbausteine, erweitern den SAP® EWM-Standard um branchenspezifische Anforderungen eines Lagers. Sie ermöglichen auch die Einbindung der unterschiedlichen KNAPP-Technologien wie OSR Shuttle™ in SAP® EWM by KNAPP.

In unserer bewährten Projektvorgehensweise „doing things right – doing the right things“ („Dinge richtig tun – die richtigen Dinge tun“) steht Gemeinsamkeit an erster Stelle. Nach einer ersten Analyse der Prozesse, Materialflüsse und Systeme präsentieren wir auf Basis unserer Erfahrung passende KNAPP „Best Practice“-Lösungsempfehlungen. Eine gemeinsame Implementierung von SAP® EWM als joint team sorgt für den nötigen Know-how-Transfer und ein kontinuierliches „hand-over“ zu Ihnen. Eine bewährte und mehrstufige Testmethodik inkl. Digital Twin für die unterlagerten Steuerungen (SPS) sowie richtige Planung stellen einen erfolgreichen Go-Live und Ramp-up sicher. Zudem ermöglicht der ITIL® zertifizierte KNAPP 24/7 SAP® EWM Service Desk (Hotline) einen optimalen Support über das Projektende hinaus.

Lösungskonzept

Spezifikation

Realisierung

Go-Live

24/7 Service Desk

SAP® EWM Services

Services rund um SAP® EWM

Sie benötigen einen zuverlässigen Partner für die Optimierung Ihrer bestehenden SAP® EWM-Lösung? Als SAP Partner bieten wir Ihnen mit SAP® EWM by KNAPP auch Lösungen, Implementierungen und Services rund um Ihre bestehende SAP® EWM-Lösung.

Den Ausgangspunkt unseres Spotconsulting zur Optimierung Ihres bestehenden SAP® EWM oder immer dann, wenn Sie SAP® EWM Support benötigen, bildet eine ausführliche Analyse Ihrer Prozesse, Materialflüsse und Systeme. Darauf basierend erstellen wir ein maßgeschneidertes, vollumfängliches Optimierungskonzept für Ihr SAP® EWM. Dieses beinhaltet auch die Übernahme in einen individuellen Support durch unseren ITIL® zertifizierten 24/7 SAP® EWM Service Desk mit 24/7 Hotline oder mit fokussierter Unterstützung für bestimmte Zeiten und/oder Prozesse.

Die Übernahme unserer Lager in einen 24/7-Support erfolgte stufenweise, sodass das KNAPP-Hotline-Team unser SAP® EWM mit all seinen Ausprägungen kennt. Der Support ist zu unserer vollsten Zufriedenheit.

Gerald Goldgruber, Strategischer Leiter Prozessmanagement und SAP, Frutura Obst & Gemüse Kompetenzzentrum GmbH
Gerald Goldgruber
Strategischer Leiter Prozessmanagement und SAP, Frutura Obst & Gemüse Kompetenzzentrum GmbH

Häufig gestellte Fragen zu SAP® EWM

Häufige gestellte Fragen zu SAP® EWM

SAP® Extended Warehouse Management (EWM) ist eine Logistiksoftwarelösung aus der Supply Chain Management Suite von SAP. Es handelt sich bei dieser Software um ein Warehouse Management System mit integriertem Warehouse Control System. Es bietet sehr viele Funktionen für eine flexible und automatisierte Abwicklung des Warenflusses und der Bestandsverwaltung in einem Lager.

Erfahren Sie mehr über SAP® EWM.

SAP® EWM inkl. MFS (Materialflusssystem) ist ein Modul innerhalb von SAP® EWM. Es dient der Materialflusssteuerung in automatisierten Lagern und der direkten Kommunikation zwischen der SAP®-Software und der SPS.

Gegenüber anderen Softwarelösungen für WMS und WCS bietet SAP® EWM den Vorteil einer Best-of-Suite-Lösung. Das heißt, dass u.a. die folgenden Prozesse bequem und einfach über ein und nicht über mehrere System durchgeführt werden können:

  • Einheitliche und zentrale Abbildung aller Geschäftsprozesse und zugehöriger Logiken
  • Schnelle und flexible Anpassung der Steuerung des Materialflusses
  • Änderungen und Anpassungen können zentral in einer Software durchgeführt werden und damit sind Auswirkungen auf Schnittstellen deutlich reduziert
  • Überwachung der operativen Lagerverwaltung in einem System
  • Möglichkeit eines ganzheitlichen, detaillierten Tests mit einer Emulation / einer Simulation
  • Fehleranalyse in einem System und damit effizientere und schnellere Ermittlung der Ursachen
  • Nutzung von weltweit bewährter SAP®-Standardfunktionalität
  • Verfügbarkeit vieler SAP-Anbieter am Markt und große Community
  • Möglichkeit zum Aufbau interner SAP® EWM MFS Ressourcen
  • Standardisierte SAP Entwicklungsprozesse und Testverfahren (mit Emulation)

Die laufenden wie geplanten Weiterentwicklung und Optimierung von SAP sind in der SAP® EWM Roadmap ersichtlich.

Die Entscheidung, ob SAP® EWM embedded in S4/HANA oder decentralized die optimaler Variante ist, hängt von dem jeweiligen Anwendungsfall ab. Dabei sollten unter anderem verschiedene individuelle Anforderungen wie Funktionalitätsumfang, Materialfluss und Automatisierungsgrad Berücksichtigung finden. Unsere SAP® EWM Expert*innen unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Suche nach der optimalen Lösung für Ihr Projekt.

Erfahren Sie mehr über SAP® EWM by KNAPP in unserem Blog