Welcoming change

The world is changing. Sometimes changes are abrupt, other times, changes develop slowly over time. One thing is for sure – changes always bring with them new challenges. Some of the challenges we are currently facing include the limited predictability of business developments as well as high demands for performance and quality. It’s challenges such as these that drive us forward in finding new solutions and developing existing solutions to provide you with a decisive competitive advantage. After careful development, building on over 15 years’ experience, market expertise and innovation, we are proud to present the new generation of shuttle systems – the OSR Shuttle™ Evo.

Discover more sales@knapp.com

Pioneer in shuttle technology

In the early 2000s we changed the world of logistics forever with our shuttle technologies. We have now made our state-of-the art technology even better by tailoring it to both current and future demands in logistics. When we designed the OSR Shuttle™ our aim was to change your world. Now, true to our philosophy making complexity simple, the OSR Shuttle ™ Evo brings new simplicity to the increasingly complex world of logistics. We are redefining flexibility, efficiency, profitability, system interconnection, processes and service. Limitations are a thing of the past. The OSR Shuttle™ Evo has landed.

What’s new?

Higher, faster, better, more flexible and economical – the OSR Shuttle™ Evo combines the best of all earlier shuttles in an innovative system approach.

  • Scalable investment: The system adapts to changing requirements and business models
  • Optimal use of space thanks to a flexible rack system and a streamlined system design
  • On-demand performance: Scalable number of shuttles and lifts; applications with shuttles that move lengthwise and crosswise
  • Flexible access to all articles in the system from any work station
  • Complete integration in the KNAPP system world

Whether it be medicine, shirts, perfume, eggs, drive shafts, bulk material or even teddy bears – you can store whatever you want, however you want. The OSR Shuttle™ Evo provides space for a wide range of articles and offers diverse storage possibilities. Containers, trays and cartons with different outer dimensions and heights can be stored in the OSR Shuttle™ Evo without a problem. The options of single or multi-deep storage and direct cartons storage are particularly space-saving and efficient.

The OSR Shuttle™ Evo has been developed in line with our all-in shuttle philosophy. As a result, the OSR Shuttle™ Evo can effortlessly link critical processes. These include:

  • Storage
  • Picking
  • Buffering
  • Replenishment
  • Supply
  • Sequencing

Its unique design enables it to put goods into precise sequences as soon as they leave the rack. The OSR Shuttle™ Evo supplies work stations and dispatch areas with goods just in time. This boosts efficiency while simultaneously reducing the amount of work.

What’s more, stock and overstock can also be stored in a way that saves on both cost and space. Where necessary, shuttles can change between rack line systems and retrieve goods from the overstock area.

Thanks to the scalable system design and its complete integration in the KNAPP software, the OSR Shuttle™ Evo can be tailored even more precisely to both current and future demands. The system approach of the OSR Shuttle™ Evo can integrate both planned and unplanned developments in your business with unprecedented ease. As a result, the OSR Shuttle™ Evo opens up new dimensions in profitability and investment security.

On top of this, the OSR Shuttle™ Evo boasts an innovative design that won’t fail to impress. The sleek design optimizes the weight of the shuttles. Individually adaptable LED strips with over 16 million different colours give the shuttles a futuristic feel while also serving as a status indicator. The OSR Shuttle™ Evo is designed for durability and low maintenance, which can be seen in the top-quality and robust components of the shuttles.

Strong as a team

The OSR Shuttle™ Evo is only as good as its integration in the overall solution. It can only achieve its optimal performance level and unfold its economic added value if the system works in complete harmony with the overall logistical solution. Below we will show you some of the perfect matches for the OSR Shuttle™ Evo from the KNAPP system world.

Goods-to-person work stations from the Pick-it-Easy series and the OSR Shuttle™ Evo fit together seamlessly. The OSR Shuttle™ Evo supplies the Pick-it-Easy work stations with goods via a streamlined pre-zone connection. Each work station has access to every article in the system, achieving maximum flexibility, availability and ideal distribution of the workload. There are a number of different variations of the work stations in the Pick-it-Easy series to suit different applications. The Pick-it-Easy Evo work station completes the work station portfolio.

Find out more about Pick-it-Easy.

Pick-it-Easy Robot

The fully-automatic picking solution Pick-it-Easy Robot is an innovative addition to the mix of technologies based around the OSR Shuttle™ Evo. In particular, the Pick-it-Easy Robot is perfect for applications that demand consistently high performance and quality over a longer period of time. What’s more, the Pick-it-Easy Robot automates monotone and repetitive tasks such as transferring individual goods to pockets. This reduces the strain on personnel, freeing up resources for other tasks that generate value.

Find out more about Pick-it-Easy Robot.

Video: Pick-it-Easy Robot

 

 

Open Shuttles

Open Shuttles are flexible autonomous transport vehicles that are opening up entirely new possibilities in the structuring of processes. They also connect spatially separated working areas and allow the layout to be adapted at any time. This makes them a flexible alternative to a classic transport system.

Find out more about Open Shuttles.

Video: Solution with Open Shuttles at Würth Künzelsau

The OSR Shuttle™ Evo is fully integrated in the KNAPP software world and unfolds its full potential in interaction with KiSoft or SAP® EWM by KNAPP. KiSoft SCADA provides a full visualization of the system as well as an overview of the status of all components within the system. KiSoft SCADA also facilitates optimized, preventive maintenance and swift incident rectification.

Find out more about KiSoft.

The Evonauts

While you are reading this page, the first new OSR Shuttle™ Evo systems are already being installed and put into operation. It’s always exciting when a new technology is launched into live operation. Here we’re thrilled to present you with our Evonauts, together with their expectations and experiences.

Schukat electronic

Why did you choose the OSR Shuttle™ Evo?

It’s quite a challenge planning for the next 15 years in advance. We simply just don’t know what the business will look like in 15 years’ time. This is why it was necessary to have a flexible overall solution, regardless of the system, which would enable us to continue our business in 15 years, whatever it looks like. This call for flexibility is what led us to choose the OSR Shuttle™ Evo.

 

Speaking of your business – what would you say characterizes it?

On the one hand, we have a small volume of daily business, which demands that we deliver very quickly from the warehouse. On the other hand, we have a highly focussed project business. These are large volume standard orders where it’s all about getting the right goods, tied up in an individual package for the customer, delivered on a fixed date. Although the trend is moving towards the higher value projects, we must be able to do both things. We don’t want to lose our bulk business by focussing on the project business, because there are a great deal of customers with potential for development. Were I to only work with our best customers, neglecting the up-and-comers, I would pass up valuable potential for the future. That’s why it’s so important to cover both segments.

 

Which advantages do you expect from the new system?

Statistics have shown that our pickers walk an average of 8–10 kilometres per shift. For us to develop further without automation, we would have to ask our employees to walk 15–20 kilometres, which is simply impossible. We also need more capacity and we are aiming to triple it. For this we need to create more space. The OSR Shuttle Evo must be flexible enough to continually adapt to changing demands.

 

Read the whole interview in the 3/2017 issue of our World of Solutions magazine.

Georg Schukat

owner of Schukat electronic

I’m proud that I still enjoy striking out in new directions. Working with KNAPP is particularly interesting because there are so many possibilities. They also recognize that their customers have ideas and needs too, and that we can build upon these to move head into the future.

Willkommen, Veränderung!

Die Welt verändert sich. Manche Veränderungen sind disruptiv – andere entwickeln sich über einen längeren Zeitraum. Veränderungen bringen auch immer neue Herausforderungen. Zu den aktuellen Herausforderungen zählen vor allem die geringe Planbarkeit von Geschäftsentwicklungen sowie hohe Anforderungen an Leistung und Qualität. Es sind Herausforderungen wie diese, die uns antreiben, wenn es darum geht neue Lösungen zu finden oder bestehende Lösungen weiterzuentwickeln, um Ihnen den entscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil zu sichern. Nach sorgfältiger Entwicklung und aufbauend auf mehr als 15 Jahren Erfahrung, Marktkenntnis und Innovationskraft präsentieren wir nun unsere neue Generation von Shuttle-System: das OSR Shuttle™ Evo.

Mehr Informationen anfragen: sales@knapp.com

Pionier der Shuttle-Technologie

Mit der Shuttle-Technologie haben wir in den frühen 2000er Jahren die Intralogistik nachhaltig verändert. Jetzt haben wir unsere State-of-the-Art-Technologie noch besser gemacht und auf aktuelle und zukünftige Anforderungen der Logistik angepasst. Mit dem OSR Shuttle™ haben wir uns vorgenommen: Wir verändern Ihre Welt. Getreu unserer Philosophie making complexity simple bringen wir Ihnen mit dem OSR Shuttle™ Evo die neue Einfachheit in immer komplexere Logistik-Welt. Wir definieren für Sie Flexibilität, Effizienz, Wirtschaftlichkeit, Systemvernetzung, Prozesse und Service neu. Grenzen waren gestern. Ab heute gibt es das OSR Shuttle™ Evo.

Was is neu?

Höher, schneller, besser, flexibler, wirtschaftlicher: Das OSR Shuttle™ Evo vereint das Beste aus allen bisherigen Shuttle-Welten zu einem innovativen Systemansatz.

  • Skalierbarer Invest: System bewegt sich mit Anforderungen und Geschäftsmodellen mit
  • Optimale Platzausnutzung durch flexibles Regalsystem; schlankes Systemdesign
  • Leistung on demand: skalierbare Anzahl von Shuttles und Liften; Anwendungen mit Längs- und Querfahrten
  • Dynamischer Zugriff von jedem Arbeitsplatz auf jeden Artikel im System
  • Volle Integration in KNAPP-System-Welt

Ob Medikamente, Hemden, Parfüm, Eier, Antriebswellen, Schüttgut oder Teddybären – lagern Sie was und wie es Ihnen gefällt. Das OSR Shuttle™ Evo bietet Platz für ein breites Artikelspektrum und vielseitige Lagermöglichkeiten. Behälter, Trays und Kartons mit unterschiedlichen Footprints und Höhen können im OSR Shuttle™ Evo gelagert werden. Besonders platzsparend und effizient sind die ein- mehrfachtiefe Lagerung sowie die Kartondirektlagerung.

Mit dem OSR Shuttle™ Evo setzen wir unsere all-in shuttle-Philosophie konsequent fort. Wichtige Prozesse können mithilfe des OSR Shuttle™ Evo schlank vereint werden. Dazu zählen:

  • Lagern
  • Kommissionieren
  • Puffern
  • Nachfüllen
  • Versorgen
  • Sequenzieren

Das spezielle Design des OSR Shuttle™ Evo ermöglicht exakte Sequenzen von Waren direkt aus dem Regal. Das OSR Shuttle™ Evo versorgt Arbeitsplätze oder Versandbereiche just-in-time mit Waren. Dies steigert die Effizienz und senkt den Arbeitsaufwand.

Mithilfe des OSR Shuttle™ Evo kann auch Bestand und Übervorrat kosteneffizient und platzsparend gelagert werden. Shuttles können bei Bedarf die Gassen wechseln und Waren aus dem Übervorratsbereich holen.

Dank des skalierbaren Systemaufbaus und der vollen Integration in die KNAPP-Software lässt sich das OSR Shuttle™ Evo noch besser auf Ihren aktuellen und zukünftigen Bedarf maßschneidern. Geplante und ungeplante Entwicklungen Ihres Geschäfts lassen sich durch den Systemansatz des OSR Shuttle™ Evo ebenfalls noch besser integrieren. Damit bietet das OSR Shuttle™ Evo eine neue Dimensionen von Wirtschaftlichkeit und Investitionssicherheit.

Darüber hinaus überzeugt das OSR Shuttle™ Evo mit seinem innovativen Design: Das schlanke Design optimiert das Gewicht der Shuttles. Individuell anpassbare LED-Streifen mit über 16 Millionen Farben verleihen den Shuttles eine futuristische Optik und dienen als Statusanzeige. Das OSR Shuttle™ Evo ist auf Langlebigkeit und geringen Wartungsaufwand ausgelegt – deswegen sind hochwertige und robuste Komponenten in den Shuttles verbaut.

Stark im Team

Das OSR Shuttle™ Evo ist nur so gut wie es mit der Gesamtlösung vernetzt ist. Nur wenn das System im Einklang mit der gesamten Logistik-Lösung arbeitet, kann es optimale Leistung erbringen und seinen wirtschaftlichen Mehrwert entfalten. Nachfolgend präsentieren wir Ihnen einige perfect matches für das OSR Shuttle™ Evo aus der KNAPP-System-Welt.


Die Ware-zur-Person-Arbeitsplätze aus der Pick-it-Easy-Serie und das OSR Shuttle™ Evo fügen sich nahtlos ineinander. Über eine schlanke Vorzonenverbindung versorgt das OSR Shuttle™ Evo die Pick-it-Easy-Arbeitsplätze mit Waren. Für maximale Flexibilität, Verfügbarkeit und ideale Aufteilung der Arbeitslast hat jeder Arbeitsplatz Zugriff auf jeden Artikel im System. Die Arbeitsplätze der Pick-it-Easy-Serie stehen je nach Anwendung in unterschiedlichen Varianten zur Verfügung. Der Arbeitsplatz Pick-it-Easy Evo komplettiert das Arbeitsplatz-Portfolio.

Mehr über Pick-it-Easy erfahren.

Pick-it-Easy Robot

Die vollautomatische Kommissionierlösung Pick-it-Easy Robot ist eine innovative Ergänzung im Technologie-Mix rund um das OSR Shuttle™ Evo. Pick-it-Easy Robot eignet sich vor allem für Anwendungen, in denen gleichbleibend hohe Leistung und Qualität über einen längeren Zeitraum gefordert ist. Außerdem lassen sich Pick-it-Easy Robot monotone und repetitive Tätigkeiten ideal automatisieren, zum Beispiel die einzelstückbasierte Übergabe von Waren an Sortertaschen. Dies entlastet das Personal und gibt Ressourcen für wertschöpfende Tätigkeiten frei.

Mehr über Pick-it-Easy Robot erfahren.

Video: Pick-it-Easy Robot

Open Shuttles

Open Shuttles sind flexible autonome Transportfahrzeuge, die völlig neue Möglichkeiten in der Gestaltung von Prozessen eröffnen. Mithilfe der Open Shuttles lassen sich räumlich getrennte Arbeitsbereiche vernetzen und das Layout jederzeit anpassen. Damit bieten die Open Shuttles eine flexible Alternative zu klassischen Transportsystemen.

Mehr über Open Shuttles erfahren.

Video: Solution with Open Shuttles at Würth Künzelsau

Das OSR Shuttle™ Evo integriert sich vollständig in die KNAPP-Software-Welt und entfaltet im Zusammenspiel mit KiSoft oder SAP® EWM by KNAPP seine volle Stärke. KiSoft SCADA bietet eine Vollvisualisierung des Systems und liefert Überblick über den Zustand aller Anlagenkomponenten. Zusätzlich unterstützt KiSoft SCADA bei der zeitlich optimierten, präventiven Wartung und raschen Störfallbehebung.

Mehr erfahren…

Die Evonauten

Während Sie diese Seite lesen, werden die ersten neuen OSR Shuttle™ Evo-Systeme bereits für einige Anwendungen installiert und in Betrieb genommen. Es ist immer spannend, wenn eine neue Technologie in den Live-Betrieb übergeht. Hier stellen wir Ihnen laufend unsere Evonauten, ihre Erwartungen und Erfahrungen vor.

Schukat electronic

Der deutsche Elektronik-Großhändler Schukat electronic zählt zu unseren Evonauten. Innovationsfreudig, unabhängig und IT-orientiert, so beschreibt Eigentümer Georg Schukat sein Unternehmen. Werte wie Innovation und Hands-on-Mentalität verbinden die beiden Familienunternehmen Schukat electronic und KNAPP. Um aktuelle und zukünftige Geschäftsentwicklungen optimal erfüllen zu können, setzt Schukat electronic auf das neue OSR Shuttle™ Evo. Wieso sich das Unternehmen für eine Zusammenarbeit mit KNAPP und für eine Logistiklösung rund um das OSR Shuttle™ Evo entschieden hat, erzählt Georg Schukat.

Aus welchen Gründen haben Sie sich für das OSR Shuttle™ Evo entschieden?

Es ist eine Herausforderung für 15 Jahre vorauszuplanen. Wir wissen nicht, wie das Geschäft in 15 Jahren aussehen wird. Aus diesem Grund war es wichtig, dass wir unabhängig vom System eine flexible Gesamtlösung haben, die uns ermöglicht, unser Geschäft in 15 Jahren noch immer abzuwickeln – wie auch immer dies aussehen wird. Genau wegen dieser Flexibilität entschieden wir uns für das OSR Shuttle™ Evo.

Apropos, was kennzeichnet Ihr Geschäft?

Wir haben einerseits das kleinvolumige Tagesgeschäft, wo es darum geht, möglichst schnell ab Lager zu liefern. Andererseits handelt es sich um fokussiertes Projektgeschäft. Das sind großvolumige Terminaufträge, wo es genau darauf ankommt, die richtige Ware – geschnürt als kundenindividuelles Paket – zu einem fixierten Termin zu liefern. Obwohl der Trend in Richtung des höherwertigen Projektgeschäfts geht, müssen wir sowohl als auch können. Wir möchten uns das Massengeschäft nicht durch Fokussierung auf das Projektgeschäft wegnehmen lassen, denn in vielen Kunden steckt Entwicklungspotential. Wenn ich nur mit den besten Kunden arbeite und den sogenannten „Nachwuchs“ vernachlässige, dann würde ich auf wertvolles zukünftiges Potential verzichten. Aus diesem Grund ist es uns wichtig, beide Segmente abzudecken.

Welche Vorteile erwarten Sie sich vom neuen System?

Mittels Statistiken haben wir festgestellt, dass unsere Kommissionierer pro Schicht im Schnitt 8–10 Kilometer zu Fuß zurücklegen. Wenn man sich ohne Automatisierungstechnik weiterentwickeln möchte, müsste man den Mitarbeitern 15–20 km zumuten – was nicht möglich ist. Zweitens brauchen wir mehr Kapazitäten – eine Verdreifachung ist hier kalkuliert. Dafür möchten wir Platz schaffen. Drittens muss das OSR Shuttle™ Evo flexibel genug sein, sich an den ständig ändernden Bedarf anzupassen.

Lesen Sie das gesamte Interview in der Ausgabe 3/ 2017 unseres Magazins World of Solutions.

Georg Schukat

Eigentümer Schukat electronic

Ich bin stolz darauf, dass es mir noch immer Spaß macht, neue Wege zu gehen. Deshalb erschien mir auch die Zusammenarbeit mit KNAPP so interessant, weil viele Dinge offen sind. Sie haben auch erkannt, dass ihre Kunden Ideen und Bedürfnisse haben, an denen man gemeinsam arbeiten kann und den Weg zusammen geht.